Digital Competence Framework

The Framework encapsulates the skills that will help learners thrive in an increasingly digital world

Digital competence is one of 3 cross-curricular responsibilities, alongside literacy and numeracy. It focuses on developing digital skills which can be applied to a wide range of subjects and scenarios.

The Framework, which has been developed by practitioners from Pioneer Schools, supported by external experts, has 4 strands of equal importance, each with a number of elements.

Citizenship – which includes:

  • Identity, image and reputation
  • Health and well-being
  • Digital rights, licensing and ownership
  • Online behaviour and cyberbullying.

Interacting and collaborating – which includes:

  • Communication
  • Collaboration
  • Storing and sharing.

Producing – which includes:

  • Planning, sourcing and searching
  • Creating
  • Evaluating and improving.

Data and computational thinking – which includes:

  • Problem solving and modelling
  • Data and information literacy.

Schools and settings should familiarise themselves with the framework, agreeing their strategic vision for cross-curricular digital competence and consider how to translate this into practice.

For more information on the Digital Competence Framework click here